Things I learned #6: noisy babies!

This is a quick but important one! It really isn’t slightly insightful but it’s good to know if you’ve never been responsible for a tiny baby before:

Things I learned #6: babies make lots of noise at night when they’re sleeping. And I mean LOTS.

It’s the dead of night. The baby is fast asleep in the bed/basket/cosleeper/whatever you’re having yourself beside you, grunting and shuffling with the occasional loud screech followed by a whimper.  Maybe there’s a bit of thrashing around going on too.

photo credit: peasap via photo pin cc

You’re peering out from under your sheet at them, bleary-eyed and white faced with exhaustion and worry because you think they’re awake or about to wake up or hungry or lonely or in pain or sick or <insert other possible scenario here>.  I worried enough about this to ask my GP at my six week check! She made the excellent point that if they weren’t okay, they’d wake up. V sensible advice indeed.

It’s okay, go back to sleep. They’re sleeping like a baby 🙂

Related posts:

Things I learned #5: the secret world of co-sleeping

Things I learned #4: there go my waters!

Things I learned #3: night sweats – sexy!

Things I learned #2: breast pads

Things I learned: a casual miniseries – giant maternity pads

Leave a comment